Page 1 of 3

Looking After Customers, Improving Profitability

Switzerland – Market Region South Division

The Swiss market generated turn- over of CHF 797 million in 2010 (compared with CHF 821 million in 2009). The economic upswing that followed the worldwide financial crisis only started to have a positive effect on bookings in the second half of 2010. While turnover was maintained at roughly the previous year’s level, operating earnings (EBIT) went up to CHF 8.3 million from the CHF 1.5 million posted in 2009. Underlying EBIT amounted to CHF 13.7 million. This improvement is due partly to increased margins and partly to cost savings. Margins improved in the high-volume tour operating business run under the Kuoni and Helvetic Tours brands in particular and had a positive effect on earnings. Higher turnover at Kuoni’s own travel agencies in Switzerland also boosted earnings.

The ash cloud caused by the volcanic eruption in Iceland in April 2010 and the violent clashes witnessed in Greece and Thailand, as well as the economic uncertainty and the football World Cup in June 2010, all had a negative effect on demand from customers in Switzerland. By contrast, the strong Swiss franc, especially in the second half of the year, boosted bookings for holidays to Europe and the USA.

Market Management (Tour Operating): efficient new organisation introduced


One of the main developments within the Market Region during the year was the introduction of new processes following the reorganisation of the Kuoni Group. The new global Procurement and Production Unit took over the purchasing of hotel and land arrangements at holiday destinations. At the same time, the communication of customer enquiries between Kuoni’s own travel agencies and Market Management was simplified as part of a project. Service providers at the destinations now talk directly to customer advisors in the travel agencies. This has reduced costs significantly within Market Management.

Turning to the product area, a flexible pricing system has been introduced for the city breaks offered by Helvetic Tours and Kuoni. Hotels are now connected directly to the Kuoni booking system and can update their offers at any time, so prices are automatically adjusted in line with changing exchange rates.
Thanks to the acquisition of Reisen TCS’s activities at the end of 2009, a new product line, accompanied tours, was introduced during the year. New holiday regions have also been opened up for the current year, with direct flights now available to Saïdia (Northern Morocco), Dalaman (Turkey) and Rostock (Germany).

Sustainable travel was a popular option in 2010, and the ananea product line has launched an extensive volunteering programme for 2011. This allows customers to actively and sustainably support environmental and social projects during their holidays. In 2010 Kuoni Switzerland became the first tour operator to offer “fair trade” holidays to South Africa, which it did in cooperation with various organi-sations and Private Safaris South Africa.

Favourite short-haul destinations for the Swiss in 2010 included the Balearic and Canary Islands, Egypt, Turkey and Cyprus. The most popular long-haul destinations for Swiss travellers were the Maldives, Kenya, the USA and Canada. Direct flights from Switzerland to Mauritius and Arusha (Tanzania) were offered for the first time and proved popular.

Kuoni retail: from product-focused structure to service-oriented sales organisation


Numerous initiatives in the “Patrouille Suisse” internal transformation project, launched in mid– 2009, went live during 2010. Kuoni Switzerland increased investment in its sales channels and in the quality of advice and service, for example. The project will continue in 2011 with the aim of transfering the unit from a product-oriented organisation to a customerfocused, service-based sales structure. One of the project’s main aims is to reinforce the retail organisation as a proactive, knowledge- and relationship-based operation. In 2010, all employees in the approximately 100 travel agencies took on new roles as travel experts, personal customer advisors or travel consultants.

Travel experts are a key component of the “Expert Exchange” database developed especially for Kuoni. Travel consultants can access all of the company’s destination expertise from the database, and when advising customers they can get help from the travel experts, wherever they are, via live-chat, mail or telephone.

Seite 1 von 3

Kundennähe und gesteigerte Profitabilität

Schweiz – Division Marktregion Süd

Der Markt Schweiz erwirtschaftete 2010 einen Nettoerlös von CHF 797 Mio. (2009: CHF 821 Mio.). Der wirtschaftliche Aufschwung nach der weltweiten Finanzkrise wirkte sich erst im zweiten Semester 2010 positiv auf den Buchungseingang aus. Während der Nettoerlös leicht rückläufig war, stieg das Betriebsergebnis (EBIT) auf CHF 8.3 Mio. (2009: CHF 1.5 Mio.). Das bereinigte Betriebsergebnis (underlying EBIT) belief sich auf CHF 13.7 Mio. Diese Verbesserung ist einerseits auf eine Margensteigerung und Kosteneinsparungen zurückzuführen. Insbesondere im volumenstarken Reiseveranstaltergeschäft der Marken Kuoni und Helvetic Tours wurden höhere Margen erzielt, was sich positiv auf die Ergebnisse auswirkte. Höhere Nettoerlöse der eigenen Reisebüros trugen ebenfalls dazu bei.

Der Vulkanausbruch auf Island im April 2010, die gewaltsamen Ausschreitungen in Griechenland und Thailand, die wirtschaftlichen Unsicherheiten sowie die Fussball- Weltmeisterschaft im Juni 2010 beeinflussten die Nachfrage in der Schweiz negativ. Andererseits begünstigte der starke Schweizer Franken vor allem in der zweiten Jahreshälfte die Buchungen innerhalb Europas und in die USA.

Market Management (Touroperating): effiziente neue Organisation eingeführt


Im Mittelpunkt des Berichtsjahres stand vor allem die Einführung neuer Abläufe im Zusammenhang mit der Reorganisation der Kuoni- Gruppe. Dabei übernahm die neue globale Einkaufs- und Produktionseinheit den Einkaufsprozess für Hotels und Landleistungen an den Zieldestinationen. Gleichzeitig wurden die Kundenanfragen zwischen den eigenen Reisebüros und dem Market Management vereinfacht. Leistungsträger an den Destinationen sind neu direkter Ansprechpartner für die Kundenberater in den eigenen Reisebüros. Im Market Management konnten dadurch nachhaltig Kosten gesenkt werden.

Im Produktebereich wurde für das Städteprogramm von Kuoni und Helvetic Tours ein flexibles Preissystem eingeführt. Hotels sind direkt an das Buchungssystem von Kuoni angeschlossen und können jederzeit ihre Angebote aktualisieren. Die Preise passen sich so stets den veränderten Wechselkursen an.
Mit der Übernahme der Aktivitäten von Reisen TCS Ende 2009 wurde im Berichtsjahr die neue Produktlinie mit begleitenden Rundreisen eingeführt. Im laufenden Jahr wurden zudem neue Ferienregionen mit Direktflügen nach Saïdia (Nordmarokko), Dalaman (Türkei) und Rostock (Deutschland) erschlossen. Nachhaltige Reisen waren 2010 im Trend. Im Berichtsjahr wurde ein ausführliches Volunteering- Programm der Produktline ananea gestaltet und Anfang 2011 lanciert. Kunden können dadurch in ihren Ferien ökologische und soziale Projekte nachhaltig und aktiv unterstützen. 2010 hatte Kuoni in der Schweiz als erster Reiseveranstalter überhaupt und in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Organisationen sowie Private Safaris Südafrika eine «Fair Trade»-Reise nach Südafrika ins Programm aufgenommen.

Zu den beliebtesten Reisezielen 2010 zählten auf der Kurzstrecke die Balearen und die Kanarischen Inseln, Ägypten, die Türkei und Zypern. Auf der Langstrecke wurden die Malediven, Kenia, die USA und Kanada besonders nachgefragt. Erstmals wurden zudem Direktflüge nach Mauritius und Arusha (Tansania) angeboten, die vom Markt gut aufgenommen wurden.

Kuoni Vertrieb: Von produkteorientierter Struktur zur leistungsorientierten Verkaufsorganisation


Zahlreiche Initiativen des Mitte 2009 lancierten internen Transformationsprojektes «Patrouille Suisse» wurden im Berichtsjahr operativ eingeführt. Damit investierte Kuoni Schweiz verstärkt in die Vertriebskanäle und die Beratungs- und Servicequalität. Das Projekt wird 2011 mit dem Ziel weitergeführt, die Einheit von einer produkteorientierten Struktur in eine kundenfokussierte und leistungsorientierte Verkaufsorganisation zu überführen. Im Rahmen des Projektes war auch die Stärkung einer proaktiven, wissens- und beziehungsbasierten Retailorganisation ein wichtiges Ziel. In den rund 100 eigenen Reisebüros übernahmen 2010 alle Mitarbeitenden entsprechende neue Rollen als Reiseexperten, persönliche Kundenbetreuer sowie Reiseberater.