Page 1 of 4

Sustainable into the Future

Corporate responsibility – proactive today and in the future

© Earthwatch/Igor Daeuble
Climate research in Canada: In a volunteering project with Kuoni’s partner Earthwatch Institute, Kuoni customers measure climate change in the Mackenzie Mountains.

Travel to far-off countries can be educational, it can broaden one’s horizons, or simply provide an unforgettable experience. Unfortunately, however, tourism can also be the cause of environmental problems and social tensions. As a globally active tourism business, Kuoni has a responsibility towards the people and the environment, both in the destinations it goes to and in its source markets. For Kuoni, long-term financial success depends on carrying out its business in a socially responsible, sustainable way. The tourism industry in general depends on environmentally undamaged destinations and local populations who feel hospitable towards guests.

People in host countries have to derive reasonable economic benefits from tourism; the work they do and the services they provide need to be fairly rewarded so that tourism remains an environmentally and socially acceptable proposition for them. Using local resources is important: if a business uses regional, environmentally friendly building materials, bases its operation on regionally sourced food and local transportation, and if it values and integrates traditional knowledge, it will also create jobs.

Management structures for sustainability


Kuoni’s sustainability work is coordinated centrally by its Corporate Responsibility (CR) unit. This department is responsible for the concrete implementation of Kuoni’s principles in its day-to-day business. It is also the contact point for internal and external stakeholders.

Within the Kuoni Group, a Corporate Responsibility Network is responsible for implementing and integrating the sustainability strategy at the different business units. This network consists of twelve people in operational and functional areas. Another project group focuses on the integration of sustainability standards into the value chain. One representative of each of the production hubs in Stockholm, Dorking and Zurich sit on this project group together with Corporate Responsibility staff, working on issues proactively and coordinating a unified approach.

Seite 1 von 4

Nachhaltig in die Zukunft

Corporate Responsibility – aktives Handeln, heute und in Zukunft

© Earthwatch/Igor Daeuble
Klimaforschung in Kanada: Bei einem Volunteering-Projekt mit Kuonis Partner Earthwatch Institute führen Kuoni-Kunden bei den Mackenzie Mountains Messungen zum Klimawandel durch.

Reisen in ferne Länder kann Weiterbildung, Horizonterweiterung oder einfach ein unvergessliches Erlebnis sein. Umweltprobleme und soziale Spannungen werden durch den Tourismus jedoch leider auch gefördert. Als global tätiges Tourismusunternehmen trägt Kuoni Verantwortung für Mensch und Umwelt an den Destinationen sowie in den Quellmärkten. Für den langfristigen wirtschaftlichen Unternehmenserfolg ist Kuoni daran interessiert, sozial verantwortlich und nachhaltig zu wirtschaften; die Tourismusindustrie ist abhängig von ökologisch intakten Reisezielen und einer gastfreundlichen einheimischen Bevölkerung.

Die Menschen im Gastland müssen angemessen profitieren und ihre Arbeits- und Dienstleistungen sollen fair vergütet werden, damit der Tourismus ökologisch und soziokulturell vertretbar bleibt. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt dabei die Einbeziehung lokaler Ressourcen: Wer regionale und umweltfreundliche Baumaterialien nutzt, auf regional erzeugte Lebensmittel und lokale Transportmittel setzt sowie das traditionelle Wissen wertschätzt und miteinbezieht, schafft zudem Arbeitsplätze.

Managementstrukturen für Nachhaltigkeit


Das Engagement von Kuoni im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit wird zentral von der Fachstelle Corporate Responsibility (CR) koordiniert. Sie ist als interne Stelle für die konkrete Umsetzung im Unternehmensalltag zuständig. Daneben ist sie die Schnittstelle zu internen und externen Stakeholdern.

Innerhalb der Kuoni-Gruppe ist ein Corporate- Responsibility-Netzwerk verantwortlich für die Umsetzung und Integration der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie bei den unterschiedlichen Geschäftseinheiten. Dieses Netzwerk besteht aus zwölf Personen operativer und funktionaler Bereiche. Eine weitere Projektgruppe fokussiert auf die Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsstandards in die Wertschöpfungskette. Hier arbeiten je ein Vertreter aus den Einkaufs- und Produktionshubs in Stockholm, Dorking und Zürich mit der Fachstelle Corporate Responsibility zusammen, um Themen proaktiv aufzugreifen und eine gemeinsame Vorgehensweise abzustimmen.