Page 1 of 3

Strong Growth with Online “Hotel Bedbank”

Kuoni Destination Management – Destinations Division

The Division Destinations has through significant growth become one of Kuoni’s most important sources of earnings. The division generated turnover of CHF 1 017 million in 2010 (compared with CHF 894 million in the previous year). This excellent 13.7 % improvement is due to growth in nearly all the Destination Management units. Kuoni Connect, the “Hotel Bedbank” launched in 2009, posted a particularly healthy growth rate, and in local currency terms turnover of all units increased by 15.6 %.

The operating earnings (EBIT) increased by 36.3 % to CHF 21.2 million (2009: CHF 15.5 million), despite pressure on margins, negative currency influences and loss of sales due to external factors such as the volcanic eruption in Iceland and political unrest in Thailand. Underlying EBIT amounted to CHF 28.2 million. Cost savings by the Destination Management unit as a whole made a contribution to the improvement in results. To round off a good year, in 2010 Kuoni Destination Management won the World Travel Award for Best Global Destination Management Company for the first time.

Destination Management Europe: Kuoni Connect proves successful


Destination Management (DM) Europe recorded turnover of CHF 463 million for the year (2009: CHF 413 million). All source markets, in particular Asia, contributed to this clear increase. However, the key Japanese market continued to suffer from the fallout from the longterm economic crisis, which increased pressure on prices. The unit as a whole would have achieved even better growth had it not been for the strong Swiss franc, the volcanic eruption in Iceland and the political conflict in Thailand. Negative currency effects and increased pressure on margins from customers and service providers also weighed down results. Despite higher passenger numbers, DM Europe managed to reduce operating costs.
DM Europe’s 24 Destination Management offices were reorganised during the year. Better exploitation of synergies between the individual offices helped reinforce Kuoni’s leading market position in this business.

Turnover from MICE business (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Events) increased mainly as a result of higher demand from the Far East.

The most important destinations for Destination Management Europe were France, Switzerland, Italy and Germany. The fastest growth was achieved at destinations in Turkey and the UK, where market share also improved.

Positively to mention in 2010 was the growth and positioning of Kuoni Connect. This “hotel bedbank” was launched worldwide at the end of 2009. Organisationally it is part of Destination Management Europe. Turnover increased by 40 % in 2010 while the number of overnight stays booked went up by more than 50 %. Kuoni Connect strengthened its market position with travel agencies and through partnerships with companies including Swiss Railways (SBB), Travelport and Etihad Airways. There was also healthy growth in the USA and Asia. Australia was added as a new destination during the year. The size of the overall hotel portfolio had increased by 15 % by the end of 2010. The “Hotel Bedbank” gives travel agents, tour operators and websites direct booking access to hotels, supplying services purchased at the destinations. This B2B business is one of the fastest growing areas of the tourism industry worldwide.

Seite 1 von 3

Starkes Wachstum mit Online-«Hotel-Bedbank»

Kuoni Destination Management – Division Destinations

Die Division Destinations wurde durch ihr bedeutendes Wachstum zu einem wichtigen Ertragspfeiler der Kuoni-Gruppe. Die Division erwirtschaftete 2010 Nettoerlöse von CHF 1 017 Mio. (2009: CHF 894 Mio.). Die erfreuliche Steigerung um 13.7 % ist auf ein Wachstum in fast allen Destination- Management-Einheiten zurückzuführen. Insbesondere verzeichnete die 2009 lancierte «Hotel-Bedbank» Kuoni Connect einen deutlichen Zuwachs. In Lokalwährung betrug der Nettoerlöszuwachs aller Einheiten 15.6 %.

Das Betriebsergebnis (EBIT) verbesserte sich trotz Margendruck, negativer Währungseinflüsse sowie Nettoerlösausfällen (Vulkanausbruch, Ausschreitungen in Thailand) um 36.3 % auf CHF 21.2 Mio. (2009: CHF 15.5 Mio.). Das bereinigte Betriebsergebnis (underlying EBIT) lag bei CHF 28.2 Mio. Kosteneinsparungen innerhalb aller Destination-Management-Einheiten trugen zur Ergebnisverbesserung bei. Erstmals wurde Kuoni Destination Management 2010 mit dem World Travel Award als bestes globales Destination-Management-Unternehmen ausgezeichnet.

Destination Management Europa: Erfolgsgeschichte Kuoni Connect


Für das Berichtsjahr wies Destination Management (DM) Europa einen Nettoerlös von CHF 463 Mio. aus (2009: CHF 413 Mio.). Zur deutlichen Steigerung haben alle Quellmärkte, insbesondere aus Asien, beigetragen. Der wichtige japanische Markt litt jedoch nach wie vor unter der lang anhaltenden Wirtschaftskrise, was den Druck auf die Preise erhöhte. Der starke Schweizer Franken sowie der Vulkanausbruch auf Island und die politischen Auseinandersetzungen in Thailand verunmöglichten ein noch stärkeres Wachstum. Die negativen Währungseffekte sowie erhöhter Margendruck seitens der Kunden und Leistungsträger belasteten das Ergebnis. Trotz höherem Passagieraufkommen konnte DM Europa seine operativen Kosten senken.
DM Europa verfügt über 24 Destination-Management- Büros, die im Berichtsjahr reorganisiert wurden. Durch die verbesserte Nutzung der Synergien zwischen den einzelnen Büros wird die führende Marktposition weiter gestärkt.

Die Nettoerlöse des MICE-Geschäfts (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Events) konnten vor allem dank höherer Nachfrage aus dem Fernen Osten gesteigert werden.

Wichtigste Destinationen waren Frankreich, die Schweiz, Italien und Deutschland. Das stärkste Wachstum wurde an den Zielorten in der Türkei und in Grossbritannien erzielt, wo auch Marktanteile gewonnen wurden.

Positiv zu werten war 2010 das starke Wachstum und die Positionierung von Kuoni Connect. Die «Hotel-Bedbank» wurde Ende 2009 weltweit lanciert und ist bei Destination Management Europa angegliedert. 2010 belief sich die Nettoerlössteigerung auf 40 %. Die Anzahl gebuchter Übernachtungen konnte sogar um über 50 % gesteigert werden. Dabei stärkte Kuoni Connect vor allem seine Marktposition bei Reisebüros und in Partnerschaften mit Unternehmen wie den Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen (SBB), Travelport oder auch Etihad Airways. Überdurchschnittliches Wachstum gab es auch in den USA und in Asien. Im Berichtsjahr wurde Australien ins Angebot aufgenommen. Das Hotelportfolio erhöhte sich bis Ende 2010 um 15 %. Die «Hotel-Bedbank» bietet Reisebüros, Reiseveranstaltern und Webseiten den direkten Buchungszugang von Hotels an und ist dabei der Lieferant von eingekauften Leistungen an den Destinationen. Dieses Business-to-Business- Geschäft gilt weltweit als eines der am stärksten wachsenden Bereiche in der Tourismusindustrie.