Page 1 of 2

Increasing Customer Satisfaction

Group Distribution – using modern technology to get close to

As part of the new function-based global organisation, the Group Distribution structure has been in place since November 2009. Group Distribution supports the business with strategies, tools, processes and procedures in customer-facing areas like E-business, CRM (Customer Relationship Management), telephony and call centres. It plays a vital role in advancing Kuoni Group’s strategy to become a more customer-centric organisation.

The Group Distribution organisation has introduced a model in which Group-level specialists work closely with virtual teams composed of members from various business units. These virtual teams support Kuoni to foster crossborder collaboration and knowledge sharing in a systematic way. The organisational model secures the implementation and active usage of Group applications and systems. The strong collaboration between “front-line” and “specialists” assures that investments made in this area achieve a positive return on investment.

Changes in the distribution landscape


The models for distribution of travel products have changed dramatically in the last decade. As the online sector challenges existing value chains within the industry, the need for a strong relationship with the customer has become increasingly apparent. Kuoni is acting to acknowledge and address these changes.

In the market segments and regions where Kuoni is active, these changes exhibit different patterns and dynamics. It is therefore important for Kuoni, as a Group, to respond to the specific needs and models. Northern Europe with Scandinavia and the UK is more online-driven than Southern Europe and Switzerland. Kuoni’s customers in the latter regions are more attracted to personal advice and contact. The reasons are different in each of the countries. Product mix, online maturity and industry structures all play a vital role. This means that the development of capabilities like online and CRM have received varying degrees of emphasis.
Yet the overall direction is the same: the future customer will use online channels more and more and will also demand that services are available in multiple channels.

E-business & online


Kuoni continues to invest in its online capabilities. In 2010, a further shift was made in the direction of online sales. Group Distribution continued to develop and roll out a shared group application (CMS) to new markets. As part of the investment and cost reduction programme, various initiatives and projects have been launched. They will bring improved online capabilities to the Kuoni Group in 2011 and onwards.

The year 2010 was also when the usage of mobile applications really took off in the travel industry. Kuoni launched a number of different iPhone apps in Scandinavia, the UK and Switzerland. These initial forays into the mobile area have provided insight for further investments in this field. Mobile applications will not only be used to inspire customers interested in Kuoni products, but will also serve as an important cornerstone in its communications with the customer before and, if required, also during travel.

Customer Relationship Management (CRM)


Customer Relationship Management is key to Kuoni’s ambitions in the area of customer intimacy and customer centricity. Getting to know the customer better in order to provide superior services will be critical for the future success of Kuoni. In a world where customers switch rapidly from channel to channel, it is essential for Kuoni to have a single focus on customers and their various needs. Therefore, CRM is becoming an increasingly important tool for Kuoni as a customer-centric company.

Seite 1 von 2

Kundenzufriedenheit steigern

Group Distribution – mit moderner Technologie nah an den Kunden

Die Group Distribution wurde als Teil der neuen funktionalen globalen Struktur im November 2009 eingerichtet. Group Distribution unterstützt Kuoni mit Strategien, Mitteln, Prozessen und Verfahren für den Kundenkontakt wie beispielsweise E-Business, CRM (Kundenbeziehungsmanagement), Telefonie und Callcenter. Sie spielt eine grosse Rolle bei der Umsetzung der Strategie, die Kundenorientierung zu steigern.

Mit der Group Distribution wurde ein Modell eingeführt, bei dem Spezialisten auf Konzernebene mit virtuellen Teams zusammenarbeiten, die aus Mitgliedern verschiedener Geschäftsbereiche bestehen. Die virtuellen Teams unterstützen Kuoni darin, die grenzüberschreitende Kooperation und den Wissensaustausch zu fördern. Das Modell garantiert die Implementierung von Konzernapplikationen. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen «Frontlinien» und «Spezialisten» gewährleistet, dass Investitionen auf diesem Gebiet eine positive Rendite auf dem investierten Kapital erbringen.

Veränderungen der Vertriebskanäle


Die Modelle für den Vertrieb von Reiseprodukten haben sich im letzten Jahrzehnt sehr verändert. Das Internet fordert die Wertschöpfungsketten der Branche heraus, und der Bedarf an engen Kundenbeziehungen wächst ständig. Kuoni geht bewusst auf diese Veränderungen ein.

Die Veränderungen haben in Kuonis Märktenverschiedene Formen und Geschwindigkeiten. Es ist daher wichtig, sich den verschiedenen Bedürfnissen und Modellen anzupassen. In Nordeuropa mit Skandinavien und Grossbritannien ist der Onlinebereich wichtiger als in Südeuropa und der Schweiz. Hier interessieren sich die Kunden von Kuoni für den direkten Kontakt. Das hat in jedem Land andere Gründe. Produktmix, Internet-Reife und Branchenstrukturen spielen entscheidende Rollen. Die Entwicklung von Ressourcen wie Onlineangebote und CRM hat also einen unterschiedlichen Stellenwert.
Grundsätzlich geht die Entwicklung in dieselbe Richtung: Der Kunde der Zukunft wird mehr Onlinekanäle nutzen und erwarten, dass Kuonis Dienstleistungen auf diversen Kanälen verfügbar sind. Kuoni muss also auf allen Kanälen Präsenz zeigen und in nahtlosen Prozessen auf Kundenbedürfnisse eingehen können.

E-Business und Internet


Kuoni investiert weiterhin in seine Onlineressourcen. Entsprechende Investitionen wurden bereits Anfang 2009 eingeleitet. Im Jahr 2010 hatte sich die Verlagerung hin zu Onlineverkäufen fortgesetzt. Group Distribution hat sich entsprechend entwickelt und eine gemeinsame Gruppenanwendung (CMS) eingeführt. Im Rahmen von Investitionen und Einsparungen wurden diverse Initiativen und Projekte initiiert, die Kuoni ab 2011 bessere Onlineressourcen zur Verfügung stellen werden.

2010 gewann auch der Einsatz mobiler Anwendungen in der Reisebranche an Bedeutung. Kuoni führte in Skandinavien, Grossbritannien und der Schweiz neue iPhone-Apps ein. Mobile Applikationen sind nicht nur ein neuer Absatzkanal, sie sind auch eine wichtige Möglichkeit, um mit dem Kunden vor Reiseantritt und während der Reise kommunizieren zu können.

Kundenbeziehungsmanagement (CRM)


Kundenbeziehungsmanagement ist wichtig für Kuonis Ambitionen bezüglich Kundennähe und Kundenorientierung. Den Kunden besser kennenzulernen, um für überragende Dienstleistungen zu sorgen, wird für Kuonis Erfolg entscheidend sein. In einer Welt, deren Kunden schnell die Informationskanäle wechseln, muss Kuoni ihre verschiedenen Bedürfnisse im Blick behalten. Für ein kundenorientiertes Unternehmen wird CRM daher immer wichtiger.