Page 1 of 3

Eyjafjallajökull

Interview with volcanologist Peter Diethelm

© Remo Nägeli

The eruption of the Icelandic volcano Eyjafjallajökull in early 2010 held the world spellbound, generating headlines across the globe as its ash cloud disrupted international air traffic. Swiss volcanologist Peter Diethelm analyses the 2010 eruption and talks to us about the unique fascination of volcanoes.

Eyjafjallajökull had a dramatic impact on international air traffic. Is the danger now over?
Peter Diethelm: A simple yes or no would imply that we can predict the volcano’s behaviour. And in this case we can’t, because we only know of three previous eruptions, in 920, 1612 and 1821. We simply don’t have enough information about Eyjafjallajökull’s “personality” as a volcano. In fact, last year’s eruption posed more questions to volcanologists than it answered. We can, though, give the all-clear for the short and medium term, because the volcano has recently been kitted out with a large number of new measuring instruments. They should give us a few months’ advance warning of any major activity.

Were the scale of the eruption and the extent of its consequences foreseeable?

Peter Diethelm: It was possible to predict the timing of the eruption relatively precisely.
GPS measurements had shown significant surface deformations caused by upwelling magma more than a year earlier. And a fortnight before the actual eruption, around 3 000 earth tremors were recorded in the vicinity in a single day.

However, it’s impossible to predict either the scale or the consequences of a volcanic eruption. To do this you would need details of the volcano’s internal structure and of the precise chemical events occurring within its magma. Even the best of today’s measuring instruments can’t give us this type of information.

The unpredictable nature of volcanic eruptions was made abundantly clear by Eyjafjallajökull. The initial eruptions that took place between 20 March and 12 April produced streams of magma which made for a truly amazing sight. But it was the second phase of eruption, from 14 April to 9 July, that affected air travel. When the magma came into contact with ice and melt-water it shattered into tiny glassy particles – volcanic ash – that was then thrown 9 000 metres into the air by steam explosions. The eruption occurred directly under the jet stream, which drove the ash with unusual persistence in a south-easterly direction, straight into the heart of the busy European air traffic network. It was the combination of all these factors – explosive eruption, location under the jet stream, south-easterly wind, continuousness of the jet stream – that produced the serious consequences with which we all became so familiar.

Seite 1 von 3

Eyjafjallajökull

Interview mit dem Vulkanexperten Peter Diethelm

© Remo Nägeli

Der Ausbruch des isländischen Vulkans Eyjafjallajökull hielt Anfang 2010 die Welt in Atem und machte international Schlagzeilen, als seine Aschewolke den internationalen Flugverkehr störte. Der Schweizer Vulkanologe Peter Diethelm analysiert den Vulkanausbruch 2010 und erzählt, was die einzigartige Faszination eines Vulkans ausmacht.

Der Vulkan Eyjafjallajökull hat den internationalen Flugverkehr Anfang 2010 stark behindert. Ist die Gefahr nun gebannt?
Peter Diethelm: Diese Frage mit Ja oder Nein zu beantworten, würde bedeuten, dass sich das Verhalten des Vulkans voraussagen liesse. Dem ist im vorliegenden Fall allein schon deshalb nicht so, weil der Feuerberg bis 2010 erst dreimal ausgebrochen ist, nämlich in den Jahren 920, 1612 und 1821. Die feurige Persönlichkeit ist schlicht und einfach zu wenig bekannt. Ja, die letztjährige Eruption hat für Vulkanologen wohl mehr Fragen aufgeworfen als beantwortet. Kurzund mittelfristig kann allerdings Entwarnung gegeben werden, zumal der Berg in den letzten Monaten mit einer Vielzahl von neuen Messinstrumenten ausgestattet wurde. Eine Vorwarnung in der Grössenordnung einiger Monate ist somit gegeben.

Waren das Ausmass des Vulkanausbruchs und seine Konsequenzen vorhersehbar?

Peter Diethelm: Der Zeitpunkt des Ausbruchs war relativ genau voraussehbar.
GPS-Messungen zeigten bereits über ein Jahr vor dem Ausbruch markante Deformationen der Oberfläche, verursacht durch aufdringendes Magma. Zwei Wochen vor dem Ausbruch wurden an einem Tag 3 000 Erdbeben registriert.

Im Gegensatz dazu sind aber weder das Ausmass noch die Konsequenzen einer Eruption heute vorhersehbar. Dafür wären Details des inneren Aufbaus eines Vulkans und der chemischen Vorgänge in seiner Magma Voraussetzung, die auch bei Vulkanen mit den besten Messinstrumenten heute nicht vorliegen.

All die Unwägbarkeiten zeigten sich beim Eyjafjalla deutlich. Bei den ersten Eruptionen vom 20. März bis zum 12. April war ausströmendes Magma zu sehen, was ein Leckerbissen fürs Auge ist. Den Flugverkehr tangiert hat jedoch der zweite Ausbruch vom 14. April bis zum 9. Juli. Beim Kontakt des Magmas mit Eis und Schmelzwasser wird diese abgeschreckt und in feinste glasige Partikel zerrissen, welche als sogenannte Vulkanasche durch Wasserdampf- Explosionen bis auf 9 000 Meter Höhe geschleudert wurde. Der Ausbruch erfolgte direkt unter dem Jetstream und dieser trieb die Asche ungewöhnlich konstant in südöstlicher Richtung, direkt ins Herz des intensiven europäischen Flugverkehrs. Allein die Verbindung dieser Faktoren – explosive Eruption, Ausbruch unter dem Jetstream, Windrichtung Südost, Konstanz des Jetstreams – hatten die bekannten, gravierenden Auswirkungen zur Folge.