Page 1 of 2

Kuoni Today and Yesterday

A portrait about the roots and the present of the travel company

Kuoni’s story began in Switzerland at a time when tourist travel was very much in its infancy. The company’s founder, Alfred Kuoni, sensed there was a new social trend afoot: the desire to discover the world.

Kuoni’s roots are in Switzerland, where the company was founded more than 100 years ago. Today, though, as an internationally active travel group, it is at home in many countries around the world. From North America to Europe and Africa, to Asia and Australia, an average of 8 772 employees (full-time equivalents) worked for the company in 2010. Kuoni currently runs branch offices in more than 45 countries.
The Group’s activities are focused on two core businesses, Leisure Travel and Destination Management. In the Leisure Travel sector, which represents 75 % of turnover, Kuoni offers a huge variety of holidays and services in all price categories through its different tour operating brands: luxury holidays to many different destinations, easy-to-book all-inclusive beach holidays, an outstanding concierge service for its most demanding customers, tailor-made individual and group expeditions, cultural tours accompanied by expert guides, breathtaking safaris, memorably intense sustainable holidays, and enlightening and rewarding volunteer programmes.

Alfred Kuoni (1874– 1943) founded Kuoni 1906 – in times of fundamental social changes. His training was in textiles, and he had a very good sense for what customers wanted.

Destination Management is an important business within the Group, contributing 25 % of overall turnover in 2010. This business is made up of a worldwide network of sales and destination management organisations that cover a variety of different services. These include looking after guests in holiday destinations, but also organising conferences and incentive packages (click here for more information about Kuoni’s business model).

A worldwide rebranding process was carried out in 2008. This involved the development and introduction of a uniform branding concept, a new corporate image and new products. The next step, and one of the biggest changes in Kuoni’s recent history, involved the introduction of a new Group organisational structure, which was kicked off at the end of September 2009 and fully implemented in 2010.
The new organisation has a twin focus: marketing and sales on the one hand, and a central Procurement and Production Unit for the whole Kuoni Group on the other. The new, global functional Group structure allows Kuoni to focus more sharply on customers, as well as facilitating further growth, efficient cost management and greater profitability. Kuoni continues to be one of the leading globally active tourism companies. As a tour operator in the premium segment, it is one of the leading providers in the world.

A look back:
respecting tradition



Alfred Kuoni, the company’s founder, trained as a textiles specialist and it was only a long stay in England that prompted his idea of offering travel services on a commercial basis.

Seite 1 von 2

Kuoni heute und gestern

Ein Porträt über die Ursprünge und Gegenwart des Reisekonzerns

Kuonis Geschichte begann in der Schweiz zu einer Zeit, als touristische Reisen noch in den Kinderschuhen steckten. Der Gründer Alfred Kuoni zeigte Gespür für ein neues gesellschaftliches Bedürfnis: die Welt da draussen zu erkunden.

Kuoni hat seine Wurzeln in der Schweiz, wo das Unternehmen vor über 100 Jahren gegründet wurde. Kuoni ist heute jedoch in vielen Ländern der Welt als international tätiges Unternehmen zu Hause. Von Nordamerika über Europa und Afrika bis zu Asien und Australien engagierten sich 2010 durchschnittlich 8 772 Mitarbeitende (Vollzeitstellen) für das Unternehmen. Die Kuoni-Gruppe besitzt heute Niederlassungen in über 45 Ländern.
Kuoni fokussiert auf die beiden Kerngeschäfte Ferienreisen und Destination Management. Im Bereich Ferienreisen mit einem Nettoerlös-Anteil von 75 % bietet die Kuoni- Gruppe mit all ihren Veranstaltermarken die unterschiedlichsten Reisen und Services in allen Preislagen an; Luxusreisen zu einer Vielzahl verschiedener Destinationen, einfach buchbare Pauschalreisen für Badeferien, aussergewöhnlichen Concierge-Service für die anspruchsvollsten Kunden, massgeschneiderte Individual- oder Gruppenexpeditionen, von Experten begleitete Kulturreisen, atemberaubende Safaris, nachhaltige Reisen von besonderer Intensität oder wissensvermittelnde Volunteering-Projekte.
Alfred Kuoni

Alfred Kuoni (1874– 1943) gründete Kuoni 1906 – in Zeiten grosser gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen. Er war gelernter Textilfachmann und hatte ein gutes Gespür für Kundenbedürfnisse.

Das Destination Management ist ein bedeutender Bereich innerhalb der Kuoni-Gruppe und hatte 2010 einen Anteil von 25 % am Gesamt-Nettoerlös. Es besteht aus einem weltweiten Netzwerk von Verkaufs- und Destination-Management- Organisatione und umfasst verschiedene Dienstleistungen; dazu gehören unter anderem die Betreuung von Gästen an den Feriendestinationen, aber auch das Organisieren von Kongressen oder Incentives (mehr zum Kuoni Business-Modell hier).

Im Jahr 2008 fand ein weltweiter Rebranding- Prozess statt, bei dem ein einheitliches Markenkonzept mit einem neuen Erscheinungsbild und neuen Produkten entworfen wurde. Ein weiterer Schritt und eine der grössten Veränderungen der jüngeren Kuoni-Geschichte überhaupt war die Einführung der neuen Konzernorganisation, welche Ende September 2009 eingeleitet und 2010 vollständig umgesetzt wurde.
Sie konzentriert sich einerseits auf Marketing und Verkauf und andererseits auf eine zentrale globale Einkaufs- und Produktionseinheit für die gesamte Kuoni- Gruppe. Die neue funktionale Konzernstruktur ermöglicht Kuoni einen verstärkten Kundenfokus, weiteres Wachstum, ein effizientes Kostenmanagement sowie verbesserte Profitabilität. Die Kuoni-Gruppe gehört heute weiterhin zu den führenden global tätigen Tourismusunternehmen. Als Reiseveranstalter im Premiumbereich ist Kuoni weltweit führend.

Ein Blick zurück:
der Tradition verpflichtet



Der Gründer Alfred Kuoni war gelernter Textilfachmann und erst ein längerer England- Aufenthalt prägte seine Idee, Reisen kommerziell anzubieten. 1905 trat er in die Speditionsfirma seiner Brüder in Zürich ein. Das Reisebüro Kuoni startete