Accounting Principles

Kuoni Travel Holding Ltd. (the Company) is domiciled in Zurich. The consolidated financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2010 comprise the Company and all its subsidiaries (Kuoni Group) and associates. The Company is one of Europe’s leading tourism companies, active in the leisure travel and destination management field. The consolidated financial statements are prepared in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) and comply with Swiss law.

Basis of Preparation


The consolidated financial statements are presented in Swiss francs (CHF), rounded to the nearest thousand. The consolidated financial statements are prepared on the historical cost basis except for derivative financial instruments, financial assets and financial instruments available for sale, which are stated at their fair value. Non-current assets and discontinued operations held for sale are stated at the lower of the carrying amount and fair value less costs to sell.

The preparation of the consolidated financial state- ments in conformity with IFRS requires management to make judgements, estimates and assumptions that affect the application of policies and reported amounts of assets, liabilities, income and expenses. Actual results may differ from these estimates. Critical judgements made by management in the application of IFRS that have a significant effect on the financial statements and key sources of estimation uncertainties are discussed separately. The accounting policies have been applied consistently to all periods presented in these consolidated financial statements, with the exceptions described below.

Adoption of New and Revised Standards


The Kuoni Group adopted new and revised standards and new interpretations with effect from 1 January 2010:


Revised standards:

  • IFRS 2: Share-based payment (Accounting of Group share-based payments with cash settlement)
  • IFRS 3: Business combinations
  • IAS 27: Consolidated and separate financial statements
  • IAS 39: Financial Instruments: Recognition and measurement (Eligible hedged items)
  • Improvements to IFRSs (April 2009)

New interpretations:

  • IFRIC 17: Distribution of Non-cash Assets to Owners




With the exception of IFRS 3, the adoption and application of the above standards and interpretations had no effect on these consolidated financial statements.

The adoption and application of the revised IFRS 3 resulted in directly expensed acquisition costs instead of capitalising them.

Seite 1 von 8

Grundsätze der Konzernrechnungslegung

Die Kuoni Reisen Holding AG (Konzernmuttergesellschaft) hat ihren Sitz in Zürich. Die Konzernrechnung per 31. Dezember 2010 umfasst die Kuoni Reisen Holding AG sowie sämtliche Tochtergesellschaften (Kuoni-Gruppe) und ihre Anteile an assoziierten Unternehmen. Kuoni ist einer der führenden Reiseveranstalter Europas und tätig in den Bereichen Ferienreisen und Destination Management. Die Konzernrechnung wird in Übereinstimmung mit den International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) erstellt und entspricht dem schweizerischen Gesetz.

Basis für die Erstellung

Die Konzernrechnung wird in Schweizer Franken (CHF) präsentiert, gerundet auf die nächsten Tausend. Die Konzernrechnung basiert auf historischen Anschaffungskosten, mit Ausnahme der derivativen Finanzinstrumente und der «zur Veräusserung verfügbar» klassierten Wertschriften und Finanzanlagen, die zu Verkehrswerten bewertet werden. Zur Veräusserung gehaltene langfristige Vermögenswerte und aufgegebene Geschäftsbereiche werden zum niedrigeren von Buchwert und Verkehrswert abzüglich Verkaufskosten bilanziert.

Die Erstellung der Konzernrechnung in Übereinstimmung mit IFRS erfordert Beurteilungen, Annahmen und Einschätzungen, welche die Anwendung von Grundsätzen sowie die Bilanz- und Erfolgsrechnungswerte beeinflussen. Die effektiven Ergebnisse können von diesen Einschätzungen abweichen. Kritische Einschätzungen des Managements bei der Anwendung von IFRS, die einen signifikanten Einfluss auf die Rechnungslegung haben, sowie Unsicherheiten in Schätzungen sind separat erläutert. Die Rechnungslegungsgrundsätze wurden in allen offengelegten Perioden dieser Konzernrechnung mit den nachstehenden Ausnahmen angewendet.

Einführung der neuen und revidierten Standards

Die Kuoni-Gruppe hat die folgenden neuen und angepassten Standards und neuen Ausführungsbestimmungen per 1. Januar 2010 eingeführt:


Revidierte Standards:

  • IFRS 2: Aktienbasierte Vergütung (Bilanzierung von aktienbasierten Vergütungen des Konzerns mit Barausgleich)
  • IFRS 3: Unternehmenszusammenschlüsse
  • IAS 27: Konzern- und separate Einzelabschlüsse nach IFRS
  • IAS 39: Finanzinstrumente: Ansatz und Bewertung (zur Absicherung qualifizierende Grundgeschäfte)
  • Änderungen von IFRSs (April 2009)


Neue Ausführungsbestimmungen:

  • IFRIC 17: Ausschüttung von nicht flüssigen Vermögenswerten an Eigentümer



Mit Ausnahme von IFRS 3 haben sich hieraus keine Auswirkungen auf die vorliegende konsolidierte Jahresrechnung ergeben.

Die Anwendung des überarbeiteten IFRS 3 führte dazu, dass Akquisitionskosten nicht mehr aktiviert, sondern direkt als Aufwand verbucht werden.